NEW: November 2016: Torrellas elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

March 2016: Torrellas elected to the Computing Research Association (CRA) Board of Directors.

January 2016: Torrellas named Saburo Muroga Professor of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

The i-acoma Architecture Group, led by Professor Josep Torrellas, focuses on new processor, memory, and system technologies and organizations to build novel multiprocessor computer architectures. The two main projects are:

Recent Designed Architectures:

The emphasis research areas in the group are:

We have released these software tools:

  • VARIUS: A model of within-die process variation and resulting timing errors in processors for microarchitects.
  • SESC: A cycle accurate architectural simulator that models a very wide set of architectures: superscalars, multiprocessors, processors in memory, and thread-level speculation.

Our research is funded by NSF, DARPA, and DOE.